News/Announcements - Harvest

Media, please contact Michelle Steg-Geltner at stem@yakamafish-nsn.gov to be directed to the appropriate contact.

Additional Sturgeon Setline Seasons

Announcement

The Fish & Wildlife Committee authorize additional sturgeon setline seasons in the Bonneville Pool from 6am Saturday March 2 to 6pm Monday March 4, 2024; and in the John Day Pool from 6am Thursday March 7 to 6pm Monday March 1

2024 Subsistence Regulations

Announcement

The 2024 Annual Subsistence Regulations were approved by Tribal Council and are now available.  They can be downloaded here.

February Sturgeon SetLine Seasons

Announcement

The Fish & Wildlife Committee hereby authorize a commercial sturgeon setline season in Zone 6 of the Columbia River.

2024 Smelt Permits

Announcement

The 2024 Smelt return is expected to be good and similar in size to the 2022 & 2023 returns in the Cowlitz River.

2024 January SetLine Season

Announcement

The Yakama Nation Fish and Wildlife Committee hereby authorize a commercial setline fishery for white sturgeon in all of Zone 6 of the Columbia River.  From 7am Friday January 1 to Noon Wednesday January 31, 2024.  Full Regulations Attached 

Expand weekly openings on the Klickitat River

Announcement

The Fish & Wildlife Committee EXPANDS the weekly openings on the Klickitat River from 6 am Mondays to 6 pm Saturdasy effective Monday October 9 through December 30, 2023.

Weekly Fall Openings on the Icicle River for coho

Announcement

The FIsh & Wildlife Committee authorize weekly openings on the Icicle River for fall coho fishing from 6am Mondays to 9pm Saturdays starting Monday Sept 25 - Nov 25, 2023.  See regs attached

Additional Commercial Fall Gillnet Fishing in Zone 6

Announcement

The Fish & Wildlife Committee authorize two additional fall commercial gillnet openings in Zone 6 of the Columbia RIver.  6am Mon Sept 25 - 6pm Fri Sept 29 and 6am Mon Oct 2 - 6pm Fri Oct 6, 2023.  Downloadable regs attached

Additional Fall Commercial Gillnet Seasons

Announcement

The Fish & Wildlife Committee authorize two additional fall commercial gillnet openings in Zone 6 of the Columbia River from 6am Mon Sept 11 to 6pm Fri Sept 15 and 6am Mon Sept 18 to 6pm Fri Sep 22, 2023.  The sancutary at Spring Creek has als

Additional fall gillnet openin

Announcement

The Fish & Wildlife Committee authorize extending the current weekly opening to 6pm Fri Sep 1, 2023 and authorize another fall commercial gillnet opening in Zone 6 of the Columbia River from 6am Mon Sep 4 to 6pm Fri Sep 8, 2023.

2023 Open Fall Commercial Gillnet

Announcement

The Fish & Wildlife Committee has authorized the first two fall commercial gillnet openings in Zone 6 of the Columbia River.  6am Monday Aug 21 to 6pm Thurs Aug 24 and 6am Mon Aug 28 to 6pm Thurs Aug 31.  Downloadable regs attached

2023 Fall Fishers Meeting

Announcement

Fall Fishers Meeting  Monday Aug 14, 2023 10am to 2pm at the Best Western Hood River Inn.  Informational meeting on 2023 Fall run forecasts and fishing options.  

Re-Open Commercial Sales in Zone 6

Announcement

The Fish and Wildlife Committee authorizes fish caught with subsistence gears in Zone 6 and in selected YN Tributary fisheries to be allowed for commercial sales from 6 a.m. Friday, July 21, 2023, through 11:59 p.m.

Close Summer Commercial Gillnet and Commercial Sales

Announcement

The Columbia River Summer Chinook return to the mouth of the Columbia River has been downgraded to a total run of 57,000 adults.  Platform/H&L catches have exceeded projections to the point where there is risk of exceeding the Treaty Catch Gui

Expand Weekly Lamprey Fishing at Willamette Falls

Announcement

The Fish& Wildlife Committee authorize expanding the weekly fishing periods for lamprey at Willamette Falls from 5am Mondays to 6pm Saturdays.  Effective Monday July 10 through July 31, 2023.  See Updated permit request attached.  Contact the

Additional Summer Gillnet Opening in Zone 6

Announcement

The Fish & Wildlife Committee has authorized an additional gillnet opening in Zone 6 of the Columbia River from 6am Monday July 3 to 6pm Thursday July 6, 2023.  Full regulations attached.

Platform Hook & Line and Open Commercial Sales

Announcement

The Fish & Wildlife Committee authorizes fish caught with subsistence gears in Zone 6 and in selected YN Tributary fisheries to be allowed for commercial sale from 6 am Friday June 16, 2023 through 11:59 pm Monday July 31, 2023.  The first 2 s

Expand Weekly Openings on the Icicle River

Announcement

The Fish and Wildlife Committee EXPAND the weekly openings on the Icicle River from 5am Mondays to 9pm Saturdays.  See attached regs for full details.

2023 Willamette Falls Lamprey Permits

Announcement

The 2023 Subsistence FIshery for lamprey will be held during the months of June and July 2023 at Willamette Falls.  Turn in the attached permit request to the F&W Committee for authorization.  Flashboard installation is scheduled for the week