Harvest Updates

Yakama Nation Harvest Management

Under the Treaty of 1855, the Yakama Nation reserved the right to fish, hunt and gather and other rights at all usual and accustomed places. This includes the preservation of fish habitat at all usual and accustomed fishing places. 

The Yakama Nation manages fisheries resources to ensure continued access by Yakama members to fulfill their ceremonial, subsistence and commercial needs.  This treaty reserved right includes the right to have fish present to harvest, at all usual and accustomed places.

Harvest News

Good numbers of coho are returning to the Icicle River surplus above the needs of production exists; therefore The Fish & Wildlife Committee hereby authorize weekly openings on the Icicle River from 6am Tuesdays - 6pm Saturdays effective...

The Fish & Wildlife Committee authorize additional commercial fall gillnet opening in Zone 6 of the Columbia River from 6am Monday Sept 28 to 6pm Thursday October 1, 2020.  Downloadable regs attached.

The Fish & Wildlife Committee expands the Klickitat River fishery to 6am Mondays - 6pm Saturdays effective Monday Sept 21,2020. Downloadable regs attached.

The Fish & Wildlife Committee authorize additional fall gillnet fishing from 6am Monday Sept 21 to 6 pm Friday Sept 25, 2020.  Downloadable regs attached.

The Fish & Wildlife Committee authorize additional gillnet opening in Zone 6 of the Columbia River from 6am Monday Sep 14 - 6pm Friday Sep 18, 2020.  Downloadable regs attached.

The Fish & Wildlife Committee authorize additional gillnet opening in Zone 6 of the Columbia River from 6am Monday Sept 7 to 6pm Friday Sept 11,2020.  See regs attached

The Fish & Wildlife Committee hereby extends the the ongoing weekly fall commercial gillnet season in Zone 6 of the Columbia River through 6pm Friday September 4, 2020.  All other fall commercial gillnet season regulations remain unchanged. ...

Yakama Nation Fish & Wildlife/ Law and Order Committe authorized the Revised Boat Safety Regulations effective April 1, 2009.  

These regulations can be downloaded and printed. 

The Fish & Wildlife Committee authorizes the first two (2) gillnet openings in Zone 6 of the Columbia River from 6AM Monday Aug 24 to 6PM Thursday Aug 27 and 6AM Monday August 31 to 6PM Thursday September 3, 2020.  See attached for...

The Fish & Wildlife Committee authorizes fish caught with subsistence gears in the Zone 6 fishery and YN tributaries to be allowed for commercial sale 12:01am Saturday August 1 to 6pm Saturday December 26, 2020.   See regs attached.